HomeWorldSlovenia joins the list of countries that recognize the Palestinian State

Slovenia joins the list of countries that recognize the Palestinian State

With the European country there are now 147 nations that recognize the rights of Palestine as a nation state.

The National Assembly of Slovenia supported this Tuesday the Government's decision to recognize Palestine as an independent and sovereign State, local media report. 52 of the 53 deputies present voted in favor of recognition, none against.

With this announcement, Slovenia becomes the 147th member of the United Nations to recognize Palestine. “With today's recognition of Palestine as a sovereign and independent State, we send hope to the Palestinian people of the West Bank and the Gaza Strip,” Prime Minister Robert Golob stressed on the social network X.

Meanwhile, the country's Ministry of Foreign Affairs stated: “Dear people of Palestine, today's final decision by Slovenia is a message of hope and peace. We believe that only a two-state solution can lead to lasting peace in the Middle East. “Slovenia will continue to work tirelessly for the security of both nations, Palestinians and Israelis.”

In favor of Palestine and peace

At the end of May, the Government of Slovenia adopted the decision stating that, with this step, it “sends a strong signal to other countries to follow its example.” In addition, Norway, Spain and Ireland took the same measure.

This is a coordinated implementation that represents a decisive step, since among Western European countries only Sweden had recognized the sovereignty of Palestine a decade ago.

The State of Palestine was proclaimed on November 15, 1988 in the city of Algiers. However, the actual creation of a Palestinian State has not fully materialized due to various factors, including the current Palestinian-Israeli conflict, which escalated on October 7.


Leave a response

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here